When parent led fails 


 bought the exploring nature with children curriculum 4 days ago, so the next day I took the children for a walk, hoping to begin our journaling.  The girls collected leaves, as I decided to pick the first week of September (even though it was the 2nd week) about fruit and seeds.  There was a few dried up blackberries I didn’t feel much like taking home and one acorn, but it seemed we might have missed the majority of seeds from the week previous.

I thought the girls could take the leaves home, identify them and then look up how that trees seeds are dispersed.  But to start I asked them to draw the leaves.

The girls wanted to play with lego and weren’t interested in doing what I wanted them to do and after a few hours trying to get them to do as I asked, I gave up and let them get on with what they wanted to do. 

Sometimes you just have to let them be, there’s no point forcing your will otherwise they’ll not put effort in anyway and produce work below their ability and just be miserable doing it.

They did really enjoy the walk in nature and collecting the leaves and I think we’ll try to make a pretty nature display with them over the next week.

Yesterday I took the girls to a park after we had a picnic and V (age 9 daughter) climbed a tree and said she was going to live at the park. I love seeing my children run, play, climb and feel free. 

Leave a comment